Prose, poetry, fiction, and rambles from people with a bit too much time on their hands.

failure to launch

The following are a few ideas that I can’t seem to take any further. See, my writing mainly hinges on spur-of-the-moment, on the spot ideas. I was driving down a dark highway, in the limbo between two major cities, with street lights interjecting every mile or so. And I had something brewing in my mind. And it went away. So here’s a few that are like that, and I’m posting them “just because”. And this place needs a new post.

“Bad Noise Rock”

I used to tell people, in an effort to sound pretentious and awesome, that I played bass guitar in a rock and roll band. This was before I realized that being pretentious doesn’t really require much of an effort from me. (See, there I go again.) I also used to tell them that I could play it proficiently.

For the most part, I’m lying. You can try to guess which parts.

I’m bringing this up now, because I listen to music in phases. I drift from listening to Andrea Bocelli for damn well over a week and somehow making my way to bad noise rock, and from there making my way to perhaps my all-time favorite Japanese rock and roll band of all time. The band’s name is Sambomaster. The lead singer’s name is a name I could pronounce out loud without sounding like a foreign asshole. And he plays the guitar like a bear ruthlessly clawing at the bones of a carcass. In a melodic way. He screams with either dire sincerity or pained agony into microphones in front of thousands of repressed Japanese youth being shown the light of rock and roll, and is backed up by a dextrous bassist and a ridiculous drummer. They can keep a damn good beat, especially when the lead singer is writhing on the floor, jumping across the room, mashing at his guitar. And somehow, it all sounds right.

“The Amazing Race”

I find “The Amazing Race” to be one of the more entertaining shows on the television these days.

Not that I’ve watched it recently, in fact, I know for a fact that the new season started a few weeks ago. I’ve just neglected watching it. (This all goes without saying that I’m not one of those pretentious types that merely sits around all day with a book and warm cup of chai tea, I only do that on weekends, thank you) It’s more the concept of it all, two people versus six or so other teams of two people, their backpacks, their wits, the money and airplane tickets provided by the network, and a race around the world. An adventure, if you will. Albeit a high-stress one that’s in constant surveillance by a cameraman and possibly someone with a boom mike, and would be watched by hundreds of thousands in the indeterminate future. Just saying.

It would be a nice thing to do for a few months.

“Hemingway”

I’ve been studying Ernest Hemingway recently.

He’s the master (or one of the masters) of terse, fluid prose. The opposite of myself, who goes off on tangents such as this one, just to add a few more descriptions of things that don’t really matter. As I read his stories, I tend to ask myself if I can write in such a style, when I’ve been so used to writing like the bastard child of Nathaniel Hawthorne, Douglas Adams, and Rana Dasgupta. When Hemingway was first published, he incitied a revolution amongst early 20th century writers; writers began to write with actual depth, making each word carry a hidden meaning that can only be inferred. So I ask myself, is it more “A” to write something like:

“I shot a glance in her direction. She was wearing jeans and an auburn pea coat. It wasn’t even that cold. Her slightly dirty blonde hair rested in a bun, her eyes in the direction of the sliding doors. Her only luggage was a worn backpack, littered with luggage tags from various airlines of the world.”

OR

“She wore an auburn pea coat, and carried sparse luggage, worn by the ravages of time, the elements, and the recycled air of airports. The nearby doors slid open and closed, creaking and begging for attention. I smiled at her. She didn’t.”

This warrants further experimentation.

One Comment on “failure to launch”

  1. Dr.K says:

    Some very interesting and insightful thoughts. I like this.


Leave a Reply

