Prose, poetry, fiction, and rambles from people with a bit too much time on their hands.

methinks random thoughts in first person

I had an incredibly vivid dream the past night, probably around this time (2-ish in the morning), and come to think of it, I should be asleep right now. But I digress. The most apparent aspect that I remember is one of everyone in a classroom that I attended the past semester singing “99 Red Balloons”. I haven’t heard that song for a good few months. The last time I chanced upon said song was on an episode of Scrubs.

I honestly have no idea why I’m bringing this up. Let us continue!

Dreams are messages from your subconscious, if you believe all of those loony psychiatrist-types. They tell you things that you put on your mind’s back-burner, intentionally, or with the prefix un-. They only surface when you’re under a warm blanket/comfortable mattress/in the embrace of another human/passed out next to a keg of beer. Psychics and book stores make some of their money by interpreting said dreams by chanting and looking into a piece of glass or dream dictionaries, respectively. By this logic, I’ve been thinking about scholastics and catastrophic overreactions to balloons floating in the air. Unlikely.

Rather than trying to figure this out, it would be better if I left this be. To put it simply, there’s a lot of fucked up shit (!!!) that goes on in the mind that we cannot understand. But said shit is the same thing that causes ideas, methinks.

BONUS: Calling it right here. I’m not sure if I left the TV on or it was some sort of prophetic vision, but the the upcoming movie entitled Hancock is going to be about some normal dude that was genetically altered in some way to have super powers. The whole denouement, conflict and all that jazz is about him losing said powers. WRONG! Go watch the movie. Leave halfway through it. Trust me, it works out better that way.

2 Comments on “methinks random thoughts in first person”

  1. Maria Isabel says:

    I believe the loony psychiatrists about dreams being messages from the subconscious and whatever. But if every damn thing in the back of our mind decided to make a riot in our brains, I think we’d spend more time dreaming than being awake…

  2. […] written before about dreams, speaking in ridiculous psychobabble that they are messages from your subconscious, screaming at […]


Leave a Reply

