Prose, poetry, fiction, and rambles from people with a bit too much time on their hands.

Just another thoughtless thought.

First off, I’d like to start by wishing a very happy Xth to my co-writer Taboruu. Any plans, yet? Seriously, hit me up.

Now. For English we had to figure out the meaning of our names and write a little something.

I thought maybe someone out there might enjoy my 15 minute ramble. So here we go.

Nicholas.
The origin of my name is a Greek word meaning “victory”. It’s clean, young, and mature. Like the number six, or a simple blue. It’s a clear voice belting truths over a tired static. A small lyric built from convoluted references. In reality I’m named after Nicholas Copernicus, Father of the Heliocentric solar system. This is a man who literally changed the universe, or at least the human perspective of it. I suppose that’s what my parents had in mind when they named me. I wish they had thought of the rest, though. Like how Copernicus’s ideas were rejected until well after his death, until someone else came along and proved his ideas worthy of a second look-over, until someone else finished what he started. Copernicus didn’t break the egg, he was just the first crack in the shell. Knowing this, I dislike my name. I do not wish to be a mere crack. I wish to be more then that. I wish to go far beyond that average Joe. God, I’d hate to be named Joe. I’m glad my parents didn’t name me Joe. But I know my parents didn’t name me after a mere crack. They wish for me to be more than that as well. My parents named me after a man who changed the universe. And in that respect, I love my name.

4 Comments on “Just another thoughtless thought.”

  1. Lydia says:

    Ohhh eloquent. I love my name too. Way to do research. :]

  2. Everett says:

    Nick i think you are full of yourself and i should be part of your website as well idk call me k

  3. Allyson says:

    Nicholas, you are writing beautiful poetry! “Like the number six, or a simple blue.” Copernicus was not an average Joe and neither are you.

  4. Tatyana says:

    say crack again


Leave a Reply

